Special Events 2020

Placeholder

GRETA BRADMAN TALKS

Horti Hall, Hemstritch Studio

Thursday 5 March, 6.30pm
What's Old, What's New, Thoughts on Fashion and Relevance in Music

Thursday 19 March, 6.30pm
What Makes a Golden Age?

Tickets: $19 General Admission

Placeholder

BABY BILBY SINGS

Horti Hall, Hemstritch Studio

Friday 13 March, 11.00am
Friday 20 March, 11.00am

Victorian Opera opens its doors to babies, toddlers and their families for a musical adventure and the first chance to experience opera. Sing, listen, play, and start a lifetime love of music.

Tickets: $15, free for 3 years and under

Placeholder

TRIVIA NIGHT: THE BIGGEST OPERA BUFF(A)

Horti Hall, Hemstritch Studio

Friday 27 March, 7.00 pm

Who composed Pelleas and Melisande? Which year did Peter Grimes premiere? What was Richard Wagner’s last opera? We’re combining our love of opera and trivia for a special one-off Victorian Opera Trivia Night. Book a table, test your knowledge with your teammates, and win some fabulously operatic prizes.

Tickets: $25 / $200 for table of 8

Placeholder

THE PIED PIPER

Theatre Royal Hobart, Tasmania

Wednesday 29 April, 7.30pm
Thursday 30 April, 7.30pm
Friday 1 May, 7.30pm

The residents of Hamelin have problems, and an invasion of rats is only the beginning. In Richard Mills’ quirky reinvention of the timeless fable, The Pied Piper and his new feline assistant set out for regional Australia to help the characterful folk of this blighted town.

This charming family opera, with a surprise happy ending, unites kids and adults from across Hobart as an on-stage community chorus.

Placeholder

FIVE FRIDAYS IN MAY

Horti Hall, Hemstritch Studio

Cabaret Evening: Music at close range, confessional, personal. Songs that if they were cut — would bleed.

Friday 1 May, 7.00pm
Friday 15 May, 7.00pm
Friday 29 May, 7.00pm

Big Sing: Join the chorus and celebrate your love of singing. No experience necessary and all welcome.

Friday 8 May, 7.00pm
Friday 22 May, 7.00pm

Tickets: $29 General Admission

Placeholder

VOYCE CONCERT

Arts Centre Melbourne, Playhouse

Tuesday 16 June, 7.30pm

Join Victorian Opera Youth Chorus Ensemble (VOYCE) as they showcase their extraordinary talents in their annual concert performing excerpts from Offenbach’s La Belle Helene, Verdi’s Otello, Bizet’s Carmen and Johann Strauss’ Die Fledermaus.

Tickets: $19-$29

Placeholder

GLIMPSES FROM RANSOM

Horti Hall, Hemstritch Studio

Saturday 3 October, 3.00pm

Join us for a fascinating colloquium about the legacy of Homer in opera. Featuring guest speakers Peter Tregear and Kerry Murphy, hear excerpts from Barry Conyngham’s new opera Ransom, based on David Malouf’s retelling of The Iliad.

Tickets: $29 General Admission

Placeholder

RICHARD MILLS TALKS

Horti Hall, Hemstritch Studio

Thursday 8 October, 6.30pm
The Beat from the Street: The Genesis of the American Musical

Thursday 15 October, 6.30pm
Bellini: The Swan of Catania

Thursday 22 October, 6.30pm
How to Write an Opera

Thursday 29 October, 6.30pm
A Voice of Our Own: Operas by Australian Composers

Full of passion and insight, Artistic Director Richard Mills shares his extraordinary knowledge of opera in a series of fun and fact-filled hour-long talks. Enjoy a glass of Coriole wine and delicious cheese as you mingle with fellow music lovers after each talk.

Tickets: $19 General Admission